Pauli’s Friday Favs

Friday Favorites!

My apologies for not posting last week – I was taking care of a family emergency – nothing critical but regardless still needed my full attention.

But I’m back ….So let’s get started on this weeks Pauli’s Friday Fav’s .

*I’ve included a link and site address to each of these items and please note that I am not being paid to promote or advertise any of my Favs  – these are just things that I have discovered online in my internet travels and want to share with you!

Since this weekend ends with St. Paddy’s Day, it is only fitting that I cover some green-ish things on this post – don’t you think? Lets start with one of my biggest favorite things – food!

Main Dish Favs

Sweet Potato Burger.  How delicious does this look?!  I am a big fan of Sweet Potatoes and I think this is a brilliant and healthy way to enjoy a burger AND your veggies!  This recipe along with some other excellent vegetarian options can be found at this lovely blog called Lunch Box Bunch (http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/)

With the warmer weather starting to come around and thinking of fun time at the lake or beach….now is the perfect time to eat fresh and clean!

Just look at that Avocado!  Mmmm....

Just look at that Avocado! Mmmm….

House & Home Favs 

Can you say Summer?!  Well folks, I think this would be a welcome addition to any patio in your home or cottage!  Just set the ice down, fill one section with adult bevvies and the other with water bottles and pop and you are set!  I think this is a brilliant idea to even use as decor and just fill up with water and float candles in the channels and voila – instant atmosphere.

Great blog with some really great ideas for DYIers – have a look at their farmhouse table…..so want one!!  http://www.domesticated-engineer.com

A built in Beer and Bevvie Table!  How great is this!  Click on the link to take you to the DYI instructions!

A built-in Beer and Bevvie Table! How great is this! Click on the link to take you to the DYI instructions!

Floral Favs

Sometimes the simplest is the most elegant!  Spring tulips are available anywhere and are super reasonably priced for this simple center piece idea.  I think this would be a lovely Sunday brunch idea or for something a little more formal.  You can check out the how to’s right here:    http://firstcomeflowers.typepad.com/blog/2012/01/how-to-make-centerpieces-with-stemware.html  They have lots of other really simple and beautiful ideas at this blog – so creative…

I just love this!

Super simple and springy center piece!  photo courtesy of http://www.waterfordeventrentals.com/

Super simple and springy center piece!
photo courtesy of http://www.waterfordeventrentals.com/

Event Idea Favs

This is a great compilation of the Top 10 Party Supplies from one of my favorite event blog sites!  They have lots of great ideas and some wonderful photos to inspire even the most timid planner!

Great Top 10 Party Items List!! A must read!

Great Top 10 Party Items List!! A must read!

Go ahead and have a peak at their blog and I promise you – you will be hooked! http://celebrationsathomeblog.com/

 

Motivation Favs

This weekend I will be running 29km on my Long Slow Run with my pack (that includes my sister).  I am a little nervous, I am a little anxious but will be very – VERY glad to have it done.  I am running the Around The Bay Race in Hamilton, ON next weekend and that one is the oldest road race in North America and kind of a big deal….. so I need ALL of the motivation I can get.  So this week I am loving this one:

I am a Runner.

I am a Runner.

Sweetspot Fav

And for a bit o the Irish…. Here are a few really wonderful and sweet items to consider trying – or at least drooling over…..

The first is a Chocolate Bailey’s Mud Cake.  Oh my word.  Will you just look at this??  Now if you are not inclined to indulge with the Bailey’s – I’m pretty confident that this cake will get you some serious ohhh’s and aahhh’s if you omit the alcohol and just make it kid friendly!

This seriously delicious looking cake recipe can be found at http://www.citrusandcandy.com where you will spend quite some time pouring over the other fabulous looking recipes on that blog!

Chocolate. Bailey's. Mud. Cake.  Are you drooling yet?

Chocolate. Bailey’s. Mud. Cake. Are you drooling yet?

And what’s St. Paddy’s Day without some Guinness right?!  So in celebration of the Irish AND the Guinness…here is one for the lovers of the Heavy Malty Bevvie……

Recipe can be found at  http://www.heatherchristo.com where you will want to try ALL of the recipes they are that good!

Especially for my sister and BIL - Dave DCourtesy of http://www.heatherchristo.com/cooks/2012/03/13/guinness-brownies/

Especially for my sister and BIL – Dave D
Courtesy of http://www.heatherchristo.com/cooks/2012/03/13/guinness-brownies/

 

Another drool worth recipe you might want to try this weekend – not exactly a St. Paddy’s Day recipe or Irish in nature or even green….but so delicate and so pretty you might just have to go there!  This blogger is a local gal – right here from Toronto and seriously folks – one of the best ones out there – in my very humble opinion!  http://creampuffsinvenice.ca

She has some truly beautiful photos and the recipes to go with this fabulous food!  Please do stop by and have a look – make yourself a cup of tea or coffee and enjoy!

Paris Brest by Cream Puffs In Venice Blogger - one of my most very favorite blogs out there!

Paris Brest by Cream Puffs In Venice Blogger – one of my most very favorite blogs out there!
http://creampuffsinvenice.ca/2012/03/19/magazine-mondays-paris-brest/

Great Big World Fav

Today I am paying homage to a friends beloved pet who sadly passed on.

To my dear friend Peter…this one is for you my friend.  I feel your pain and I share your tears.  I know what it is like to lose a pet and it’s heartbreaking.

Here is to Big Bad Bear.  Beloved Boxer of Peter.

RIP Bear.  Duffy will be there to show you around buddy!

RIP Bear. Duffy will be there to show you around buddy!

Happy Weekend all – and Happy St. Paddy’s Day as well!

xo

Signature

4 thoughts on “Pauli’s Friday Favs

  1. I look forward to your Friday blog. It’s amazing and so many neat things and recipes. You have such a good eye.! I am passing it to all my friends. Way to go girl. You are a super star! Good luck with your run! Thinking about you.

    • Thanks Car! Half the fun is looking at all the amazing stuff on the web! There is so much to read and discover and learn! Oh and the recipes….I drool reading some of them 😉 Will be thinking of you on my LSR on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

