2014 Running Goals

2014 running goals

I’ve been giving this some thought.
It has taken me a little bit to put my 2014 Running Goals together.
I wanted to put goals down that are not only attainable but also challenging – without making them so hard that I would get discouraged and let them fall through the grates. I also thought it would be best that I compile goals that I can actually “plan” for… that I can put a strategy together for. Now I know there are a lot of people would think, why bother, it’s a lot of work, ugh too much structure etc. But I am one of those people who need to plan, so I can have some structure. I don’t like surprises and I like to be prepared for what’s ahead. (*and yes if that makes me a bit of a control freak…then yes, that’s who and what I am – and it works for me. Don’t judge ok?)

While I was getting ready to sit down and put this post together, I came across something that touched me. It made me cry a bit and it made me realize how simple yet true this piece is.

http://www.upworthy.com/right-before-dying-from-a-rare-lifelong-disease-sam-revealed-his-three-secrets-to-happiness

I do believe that all of the above can be applied to not only life in general but to running as well.

1. Be ok with what you ultimately can’t do because there is so much that you CAN do…..  So I may never qualify for Boston but I can and will enjoy my races and runs (the good, the bad and the ugly) that I am ABLE to do.  I CAN enjoy all that running brings me – the feeling of freedom, of accomplishment, the beauty of the landscapes I run – whether they are cityscapes, farms or where ever I am, to feel blessed that I can even run.

2.  Surround yourself with people you want to be around……. These are my running friends, buddies, partners, coaches and supporters.  I’m absolutely a people person but my running people are something very special to me.  I spend a great deal of time with these folks — I run 4x a week during training and this includes our long runs…oh those long runs.  You can learn a lot about someone on these runs.  We have shared hopes and dreams, fears and tears.  We have laughed – soooo much and we have learned even that much more.  I surround myself with these people because they are the best.  Really.  Truly.  The Best. ( *You know who you are!!)

3.  Keep moving forward…..  Always keep moving forward, one foot at a time.  One run, one race, one dream at a time (ok well at least keep the dreaming somewhat realistic!).

4. Never miss a party if you can help it…… Well, this one is easy, and I don’t mean a major bender!  The Parties I think about are the celebrations with my peers – the birthday celebrations, the milestone celebrations, their accomplishments, my accomplishments and of course – the Wrap Up Celebrations after a Race – no matter how well we did or how poorly we ran.  It’s about celebrating our friendships and just being able to live fully.

I would strongly encourage you to have a look at this video – link below.  This young man was not only a brave person but a very wise person who has inspired me to think a little harder about 2014.

( http://www.upworthy.com/right-before-dying-from-a-rare-lifelong-disease-sam-revealed-his-three-secrets-to-happiness )

And now without further ado…. my 2014 Running Goals (** butterflies**).

1. Stay Injury Free.  Enough said.

2. Run my 2nd Full Marathon  AND the Around The Bay this year as a true races and beat my time by at least 15 minutes.    

3. Run a Full with my sister!  

4.  Motivate and help train at least one person who has never run before  – and help them to run a race  – any race! 

5.  Limit my running shopping addiction to only one running item to every 3 months.  (Wow.) **** Gels and nutrition items not included.

6. Run one race with both my sibs – my brother Frank (*who is not a runner! hint, hint see number 5) and my sister, who is just coming off a running injury.

7. Cross Train!  Yup that’s right.  I am committing to cross training at least 2x a week (where am I going to find the time for this?!?)

8. No swearing or negative attitude or words during runs.  I use to swear and complain during the first 2-3km of runs and on a few of our long runs (my poor training partner Ingrid, she had to endure that last year while training for the Scotia, she is such a trooper!) Btw –  Saying Oh Shoot doesn’t count!

9. Plan and run one destination race, even if it’s just across the border or out-of-town.  Preferably with Sis!

10. Learn better fuelling for my races!  That last 2 km at the Scotia was tough!  The cramping…wow.  ouch. This year I need to really try to avoid that cramping so I don’t end up having to walk as much as I did during the second half of my first Full.

11.  Volunteer at least one race this year.

12. Not to be so hard on myself and just enjoy the journey. 🙂

Well, that’s 12 goals that I think are do-able, number 5 might bring some tears and maybe a meltdown or two but very doable.

What are your running goals for 2014?

Signature

2 thoughts on “2014 Running Goals

    • Thanks! Ya – for me, I use to start off grumbling and with the odd swear word (sometimes very easy to do while running in the calf high snow…lol) and when I stopped, it actually really helped! 🙂 Imagine that lol.
      Stay warm on those long runs 🙂

Leave a Reply

