This weeks Obsession….. Kabees (aka Mediterranean Pickled Radishes & Beets)

Find me on Instagram!  yyzstylegirl  (aka happyrunnergirl)

Find me on Instagram!
yyzstylegirl
(aka happyrunnergirl)

Since the best thing to do after a hard, mind-frazzling workout is to talk about food – well, that’s what I find myself doing with one of my instructors.  Just the other day after working out so hard I could barely speak, I managed to squeak out some comments about cravings and Lynn, my instructor says oh have you tried the Chicken Shwarmas from *******  and I say no, but I might have to go.

Well all the way home all I could think of was Chicken Shwarmas, the crispy golden chicken, the fresh veggies on the warm pita…and the “Pickles”.  These “Pickles” as I like to call them are not even pickles – as in Bick or Vlassic or Straubbs – these are those bright pink-fuschia crunchy bits that are a staple in any self respecting Pita Shop or Shwarma Shop.  But they are NOT pickles – they are Radishes and Beets!  Ok so, radishes and beets are not for everyone, HOWever….. if you like Middle Eastern cuisine, these are traditionally part of any table fair along side the olives and other briny deliciousness that are served in homes, restaurants and shops where this type of cuisine is served.

These pickled radishes/beets are called Kabees.  My first introduction to them was when I was living in Michigan.  There is a large Middle Eastern population in certain parts of this state and let me tell you – you will find some of the best food in these little pockets.  My first bite of Kabees was actually not a good one as I had no idea -no warning – that these pink little morsels were very briny and a bit spicy!  Here I’m thinking that something so pretty was going to taste somewhat sweet and would be delicate…….Wrong!!  Rather than melting in my mouth – it went Ka-POW!!!!!  So it took a few bites and several sips of water (*ended up choking it was so briny and sour and SPICY!) to learn to fall in love with this pink bit of deliciousness.

Since then I have had many Kabees – some good, some not so good, some spectacular.  And my friends, I have found the absolute perfect and easiest recipe for making these.  I have to warn you though, that these Kabees are addictive.  You will find yourself craving them, dreaming of them and fighting for the last little bit of them (that was a scary moment at my house!)

A Food Blogger-Chef named Denise from DeDeMed ( www.dedemed.com ) who is a culinary whiz at Middle Eastern food posted the recipe for her Kabees as well as a video on YouTube (http://youtu.be/H1PVPmLMqFY) that are TO DIE FOR…..!

I am including her recipe along with photos of my Kabees – which, if I might, tell you, they gave me goosebumps when I tried the final product!  I was so please with the result and considering how easy it was, this will now become a staple for me have on hand.  These pickled radishes can be served on sandwiches, grilled cheese, burgers, with your olives and feta cheese platters or along side pretty much any dish.

DedeMed’s Kabees (PIckled Radishes)

* please note that I doubled the recipe and ended up with 5 full mason jars

  • 3 large turnips, peeled and cut into [1/4]-in. slices
  • 1 large beet, peeled and cut into [1/4]-in. slices
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • [1/2] medium jalapeño, sliced – optional – but you should really make some with these as it gives it a wonderful bite!
  • 1[1/2] cups water
  • 1[1/2] cups white vinegar
  • 3 tsp. salt

In a large jar, place turnips, beets, garlic, and jalapeno.

In a large bowl, whisk together water, white vinegar, and salt until salt is dissolved.

Pour enough of vinegar mixture into the jar to fill to the top. Add the lid, seal the jar, and gently shake to mix.

Store the jar in the refrigerator for 1 week.

Refrigerate after opening.

These are what my jars looked like as soon as I finished cutting and jarring them.

Kabees!  YUM

Kabees! YUM

As you can see the colour from the beets has already started to spread!  A week seemed like so long to wait to get into these babies!!

A couple of days later I peaked at them again and the colour was even more intense and all I could think of was cracking open that jar and noshing….

Beautiful colour already!

Beautiful colour already!

And finally – the day had come.  I finally got to open them and find out just how good they were!

Nom nom nom...

Nom nom nom…

I had put them into a homemade Chicken Wrap (I had left over breaded chicken from my Chicken Parm that I had made the night before) and people….I got goosebumps when I got my first taste of these Kabees….. Seriously.  Those that know me, know I’m a little crazy about my food so they know I am not kidding when I say – TO. DIE. FOR.

Craving a wrap!

Craving a wrap!

Ready to devour!

Ready to devour!

Sigh.

Find me on Instagram!  yyzstylegirl  (aka happyrunnergirl)

Find me on Instagram!
yyzstylegirl
(aka happyrunnergirl)

Ok that’s it folks, I’m off to find next weeks food obsession………..

xo

Signature

Leave a Reply

